CATR 2017 Announcement

Canadian Award for Telecommunications Research 2017

Professor Victor C. M. Leung

The Canadian Society of Information Theory is pleased to announce Professor Victor C. M. Leung of the University of British Columbia as the recipient of the 2017 Canadian Award for Telecommunications Research.

Prof. Leung is recognized for his distinguished career of major contributions to the theory and practice of wireless networking and mobile systems. These contributions have made key advances in the speed, energy-efficiency, and security of cellular wireless networks.

The CATR is awarded biennially, recognizing distinguished contributions made by an individual in Canada to research in the field of telecommunications. The award was instituted in 1990, and Dr. Leung is the 14th laureate. See also:

Biography: Victor C. M. Leung received the B.A.Sc. (Hons.) degree in electrical engineering from the University of British Columbia (UBC) in 1977, and was awarded the APEBC Gold Medal as the head of the graduating class in the Faculty of Applied Science. He attended graduate school at UBC on a Canadian Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Postgraduate Scholarship and received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering in 1982.

 From 1981 to 1987, Dr. Leung was a Senior Member of Technical Staff and satellite system specialist at MPR Teltech Ltd., Canada. In 1988, he was a Lecturer in the Department of Electronics at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He returned to UBC as a faculty member in 1989, and currently holds the positions of Professor and TELUS Mobility Research Chair in Advanced Telecommunications Engineering in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Dr. Leung has co-authored more than 1000 journal/conference papers and book chapters, and co-edited 12 book titles. Several of his papers had been selected for best paper awards. His research interests are in the areas wireless networks and mobile systems.

 Dr. Leung is a registered Professional Engineer in the Province of British Columbia, Canada. He is a Fellow of IEEE, the Royal Society of Canada, the Engineering Institute of Canada, and the Canadian Academy of Engineering. He was a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Communications Society. He is serving on the editorial boards of the IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, IEEE Transactions on Green Communications and Networking, IEEE Access, Computer Communications, and several other journals, and has previously served on the editorial boards of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications – Wireless Communications Series and Series on Green Communications and Networking, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, IEEE Transactions on Computers, and Journal of Communications and Networks. He has guest-edited many journal special issues, and provided leadership to the organizing committees and technical program committees of numerous conferences and workshops. He was a recipient of the IEEE Vancouver Section Centennial Award and 2012 UBC Killam Research Prize.