CATR: Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations of Canadian Award for Telecommunications Research

The Canadian Award for Telecommunications Research (CATR) is awarded biennially, recognizing distinguished contributions made by an individual in Canada to research in the field of telecommunications. The scope of the award includes information theory, communication theory, networking, and signal processing with application to communications.

We solicit nominations of individuals with outstanding records of achievement. Nominations shall consist of:

  • A detailed CV for the candidate;
  • Letters from at least three arm’s-length referees; and
  • A written statement summarizing the candidate’s accomplishments, putting them in the wider context of contemporary research.

Self-nominations are acceptable. All nomination materials, including the names of the candidates, will be treated confidentially.

The award will be announced in Fall 2019.

Nominations shall be addressed by the deadline of August 31, 2019 to:

Chen Feng (, CATR award committee

Inquiries about the award should be addressed to:

Julian Cheng (, CATR award committee

This year the award committee members are

Professors Fady Ajajaji (Queen’s), Deepa Kundur (Toronto), Tho Le-Ngoc (McGill), Chen Feng (Secretary of CSIT) and Julian Cheng (President of CSIT)

For complete award procedures and names of past winners, please see: